Gaastra Palmavela 2015

Palma de Mallorca, Spain – Four days of impeccable racing, four different winners in five races, the regatta trophy of the Wally Division assigned in the last race: Gaastra Palmavela confirms to be the grand opening of the Wally Class season, where the yachts evaluate the improvements of the winter works.
Nine yachts on the starting line: Galma, J One, Kenora, Magic Carpet Cubed, Nahita, Open Season, Ryokan 2, Tango G, Y3K, making the Wally Class the largest performance division of the event.

The most awaited was the debut of the newly refitted Open Season, featuring new length, new keel, and new sails: the results matched the expectations.  Open Season showed enhanced performance engaging close duels with the wallycento Magic Carpet Cubed, the number one seed of the Class. The two yachts alternated in the lead of all the races, both in the windward-leeward and in the coastal courses, crossing the finish lines well ahead of the rest of the fleet.

The weather was sunny and warm with light-medium winds,  ranging from 5 to 11 knots, allowing for five races to be sailed, three windward-leeward and two coastal courses, thanks also to the highly experienced race committee.

The competition was so high and tight that the Wally Class had four different winners out of the five races (J One, Magic Carpet Cubed, Open Season, Y3K). In addition,  at the start of the last race of the last day, the games were still very open with three yachts tied in the lead (Y3K, Open Season, J One)!
At the end, Open Season won t the Wally Class overall by one point only ahead of Magic Carpet Cubed. Y3K came in third one point behind, while J One and Galma finished 4th and 5th respectively with equal points! Ryokan 2 won the Wally Class group 2.

The Wally Class large fleet meet up again in three weeks at Menorca Maxi, May 26-31, where 11 yachts have confirmed to race: follow the live racing in this web site!

General results:

1. Open Season 9 p.
2. Magic Carpet Cubed 10 p.
3. Y3K 11 p.
4. J One 12 p.
5. Galma 12 p.
6. Tango G 17 p.
7. Ryokan 2 26 p.
8. Nahita 32 p.
9. Kenora 33 p.

Download the Wally race times